Scottsdale DUI Attorney

If you have been charged with a DUI in Scottsdale, Arizona, you are probably wondering how much money you are going to have to pay, if you will have to take alcohol classes, and whether or not you could potentially face jail time.

The first thing you should know is that you should never put your fate in the hands of a public defender. These attorneys are overworked, underpaid, and often fresh out of college. It is important to enlist the help of a Scottsdale DUI lawyer with many years of experience representing defendants in the Arizona courts

DUI Driving

What You Should Know About Arizona Law

If you are pulled over for a DUI in Arizona, you may be asked to do a series of field sobriety tests and you may also be asked to take a breathalyzer test. You can refuse to take those tests, but the police officer may arrest you based on other factors, such as driving patterns and whether or not you appear to be intoxicated. Arizona has an implied consent law. This means that when you get a driver’s license, you are consenting to take a BAC test in the event that you are arrested.
Remember that your 5th amendment rights are in play. If the officer asks if you have been drinking, you do not have to answer. You do not have to tell them anything about what you were doing, where you were, or who you were with.
Keep in mind that you have the right to a speedy trial and that there are limits on what the courts can charge you for bail. A good drunk driving defense lawyer in AZ will be able to advise you on how long is too long to wait for a trial and whether an appropriate bail amount was set.

When are You Considered Drunk

As in most states, you are considered to be drunk when your breath alcohol content is above 0.08. If you are a professional commercial vehicle driver, a BAC of 0.04 is considered sufficient to warrant a DUI charge. If you are under the age of 21, you can be arrested if you have any alcohol in your system.

DUI Driving

Penalties for Drunk Driving

The first time you are arrested for drunk driving in the The Grand Canyon State, you may face anywhere from one to ten days in jail, license suspension of up to one year and a $250 fine.A second offense may get you one to three months in jail, a license suspension of one year, and a fine of $500.
A third offense can result in a driver at least four months in jail, a $750 fine, and a suspension of one year. All DUI convictions require drivers to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.